The unit of the Nepalese Currency is Rupee. One Nepali Rupee is formed of a hundred fractional monetary unit. Nepali Rupee notes are available Rs. 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 25, 50, 100, 500 and 1,000. Coins are available fractional monetary unit five,10,25,50 Rs. 1, 2, five denominations. Paisa monetary unit coins don't seem to be presently used for common transactions.

MasterCard, Visa and yank categorical area unit accepted the least bit major Hotels, Travel Agencies, Restaurants and Stores. solely the primary 2 although, area unit presently accepted at banks for cash advances. As from previous record 2000 ATM services area unit out there in  Kathmandu.

In the cities, and specially while trekking, change for Rs500 and Rs1000 bills is not easily available.

Exchange Rates

Day to day foreign currency exchange rates area unit revealed in native English daily newspapers like The Rising Kingdom of Nepal and therefore the  Kathmandu Post.

Banks are open between 10:00 A.M. to 2:30 p.m., Sunday to Thursdays; and between 10:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. on Fridays. Closed on Saturdays and national holidays. Some Banks in Thamel, Kathmandu are open till late.